Someone to save me

Still waiting for someone to save me

Save me from myself

Save me from the world around me

 

Always had this feeling

That maybe someone will come and save me

Someone will come and change my life

 

But this someone ain’t coming

I have been waiting too long

Kept the faith for too long

 

I am not sure exactly

What I will be saved from

Or saved to

 

Just a saviour

Simply, someone to save me

Save me and take me home

 

This is not a poem , not a song, I don’t even know what it is. All I know is I wanted to write about someone saving someone. I don’t know if I felt like that, or I feel like that. But we all sometimes yearn for someone to save us from something, a situation, an environment, a circumstance, loneliness. That is why the super hero culture exists in the western world and religion is so strong in the developing countries. This is why LOVE (as sold and packaged in our times) is such a best-seller. But we can’t escape the feeling , can we?  And is there someone coming to save me, or I just save myself? Isn’t this a lazy idea?

 

All the while Remy Zero’s ‘Somebody save me’ (Smallville theme song) plays in the background for effect.

 

“Put not your trust in princes, in a son of man, in whom there is no salvation’’

 

But then again, I keep doing that. Do you?

Leave a Reply

